A new arrangement

Francesco Tomio
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 19, 2023

One of the changes made to reduce my energy consumption in the house was to revise some arrangements. For example, my desk was located in a part of the room without too much natural lighting because it was far from the window. Spending many hours at the computer during the day, I need light and normally I use my table lamp. So, I thought that moving it near the window could help me make the most of the natural light and, consequently, reduce the use of artificial lights. I then moved the desk next to the window. As I set up my new workspace, I noticed how natural light flooded the room. Actually, I immediately noticed the change in brightness. I realized how much time I had wasted before, working in the “darkness”.

Over the next few days, I noticed an immediate drop in the use of artificial lights. My electricity consumption decreased. In addition, the natural light gave me a feeling of well-being, making my days at the pc a little more enjoyable. Maybe the downside is that sometimes I got lost looking out the window!

However, this simple choice of moving the desk near the window made a good difference. I realized that maybe making the most of simple things like natural light can help reduce energy consumption. I don’t think I’m going to move it back to where it was.

--

--