A vegetarian week

Cecilia Pizzagalli
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 20, 2023

This week I decided to take on a personal challenge: to give up meat completely. While my days are usually marked by meat meals, I wanted to explore a vegetarian diet for a whole week. The transition was surprisingly easier than I thought.

Day after day, I experienced a variety of foods made from vegetables, legumes and tofu. I have prepared nutritious salads, rich soups and exotic dishes with ingredients like lentils and quinoa. Culinary creativity has become my ally, discovering new recipes and flavors that I had never considered before.

Also, I noticed changes in my body and mood. I felt lighter and full of energy, perhaps thanks to the positive effects of a plant-based diet. My mind also seemed clearer, as if getting rid of meat had an impact on my concentration and feeling of general well-being.

Socializing without eating meat was interesting. I discovered vegetarian restaurants that I had never noticed before and shared meals with friends and family, proving that a vegetarian alternative can be delicious and fulfilling for everyone.

This experience made me think about my diet and the choices I make every day. It inspired me to explore the importance of a balanced and sustainable diet, not only for my health, but also for the well-being of the planet. Although the meatless week ended, I decided to keep this habit, trying to reduce meat consumption in my long-term diet.

--

--