“All roads lead to Rome”

Sandra Quintana
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 19, 2023

I have always had trouble with spatial orientation, and now that I’m in Milan, it has only gotten worse because I don’t know the city. Since I arrived, I’ve been charging my phone at least twice a day, among other reasons because of my dependence on Google Maps. The first challenge I set for myself was to reduce my excessive phone battery consumption, but to do that, I needed to come up with a strategy. Luckily, I had a printed map of the city at home, and I started studying it. I memorized the train routes I had to take every day, as well as the sequence of stops the train had to make before reaching my house. Since I don’t have to take as many trains anymore, I’m also studying buses, metros, and trams.

My problem is that in just two weeks of using these modes of transportation, at least four have changed their routes, and I’ve had to get off to change my combination and reach my destination, obviously using Google Maps.

I don’t think I can get rid of this app yet because I still find it extremely useful, but it’s interesting to try. I still don’t feel safe enough to go out without my portable charger, but at least I think I can read the maps of the transport routes and stations now.

If by any chance my phone battery dies one day, maybe I’ll be able to find my way back home.

--

--