Bye bye car, welcome Bike!

Marta Grauso
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 17, 2023

Thanks to the 4kWh assignment, I had the opportunity to understand my energy impact on everyday life. What I discovered is that using car also for short travels has a huge impact. Luckly the place where I live is well connected with Milan city in terms of public transport. By the way, neither trains nor electric buses have are 100% sustainable.

I decided to dust off my beautiful blue Holland bike (her name is SKY) and start moving by bike for short movements inside my city: go to the supermarket, visit a friend, go to the bank…

The benefits are multiple. First of all, riding a bike doesn’t request energy or electricity and doesn’t emit any pollutants; furthermore it benefits my physical and mental health.

Honestly, I revalued the use of bike but riding will become harder with the probable temperature decrease of the next weeks but who know, maybe wearing a warm jacket will be enough!

--

--