Change of mind

Junyan Lu
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 19, 2023

As my 4kWh living challenge comes to an end, I’ve made some enlightening discoveries that have changed my perspective on daily life. One of the most striking revelations was realizing that certain electrical equipment I once thought were essential were actually completely optional.

Take a hair dryer for example. Before this challenge, I used it every day without thinking. However, once I got used to the 4kWh energy limit, I started to question whether I really needed it. Upon closer inspection, I realized that air drying my hair was not only an energy-saving option, but also a more natural and healthier option. It allows me to embrace a simpler, eco-friendly lifestyle

.

This experience made me rethink the role of many other energy-consuming devices in my life. For example, the blender is another eye-opener. While making smoothies and purees is convenient, I’ve found that using a hand blender or even a simple fork can achieve similar results with minimal energy expenditure. I began to question whether the environmental cost of convenience was worth it.

The 4kWh living challenge also highlights the importance of daylight and natural lighting. I find I can use the sun’s rays more efficiently and reduce the need for artificial lighting during the day. I was delighted to realize that a well-placed window or a carefully placed mirror could significantly brighten my living space without the need for additional lights.

Overall, this experiment reshaped my daily life and behavior. I’ve come to realize that a simpler, more energy-efficient lifestyle is not only possible, but often preferable. It taught me to be more resourceful, more aware of my consumption, and more appreciative of the natural world.

All in all, I no longer consider many of the electrical devices I once relied on to be a necessity. I learned that there are often alternatives that are not only more environmentally friendly, but also lead to a more mindful and balanced lifestyle. The 4kWh Living Challenge opened my eyes to the beauty of simplicity and sustainability, a lesson I plan to continue learning long after the challenge is over.

--

--