Christmas lights all year long

Lorenzo Mangili
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 19, 2023

Day 2: October 14, 2023
Today is Saturday, and I am finally home.
It is currently 9:33 PM, and the day is coming to an end.
I couldn’t indulge in long naps, but I could finally challenge my lifestyle.
To be honest, the challenge started last night when, in the darkness of the room, a faintly glowing light illuminated my space.
It was the indicator light of the alarm in the living room.
Sure, it’s nothing compared to the 4 kW per day, but it’s still a small problem.
As the main goal of the challenge, I set out to save on lights.
With a vigilant eye, I started to notice during the week how many lights constantly illuminate rooms, objects, desks.
Even more so, there are indicator lights that signal devices on or off, red, yellow, and green traffic lights, and much more.
Like Christmas lights scattered on a tree, these lights create a trail of signals and information, often not even requested.
So, I started turning off as many as possible: the TIM Wi-Fi hub has 7 indicator lights, the TV and Sky Q each have one, the DVD player has one.
Even more energy-consuming are the LED displays scattered in our homes: the landline phone, the microwave, the oven, the refrigerator, the alarm clock, and more.
With patience and care, I started turning off as many as possible.
Some of them turned out to be impossible to turn off, like the refrigerator and alarm clock lights.
Disappointingly, the design of the Sky Q product made it personally challenging for me to turn off its indicator light.
Other lights required minimal effort: by following the instructions, I easily turned off the TIM Wi-Fi hub lights.
This made me reflect on the unnecessary amount of wasted kWh over the years.
Once again, I want to emphasize that this may not reduce my daily consumption below 4 kWh, but it certainly makes a difference.
After all, Christmas lasts just one day.

--

--

Lorenzo Mangili
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
0 Followers

My friends call me "Mago", but I'm not a magician.