Day 2: Reducing Electrical Usage

Yaxin Ran
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
3 min readOct 18, 2023

Just a small change in my eating habits saves me 600w of electricity per day, so reducing my appliance usage should help me save even more :/

So here’s my Day 2 challenge: Reduce Appliance Usage

Method 1: Reduce Washing Machine Usage
I realized that I have a lot of clothes to wear, so I don’t need to do laundry every day. Putting more clothes in the washing machine and putting less clothes in the washing machine consumes about the same amount of electricity for the same amount of time.

My dirty clothes basket

Therefore, I bought a dirty clothes basket and plan to save my clothes and wash them every three days.
This month, according to the calculation of 30 days, my daily power consumption of washing clothes from 800w to 266.7w, (800x10/30), daily savings of about 533w of electricity!

Method 2: Reduce the frequency of bathing
In fact, I am a person who does not like to sweat much, and I do not exercise much every day. My hair texture is also good and does not get oily, so it is acceptable for me to wash my hair and take a shower every other day.
So I’m going to wash my hair and take a shower one day at a time.
This way, if I calculate 30 days in a month, my daily power consumption of water heater will be halved, saving 350w of electricity!

Method 3: Reduce the use of lights
Every night when I study at my desk, I would turn on the lights in my room and the lamp on my desk. But I found that the desk lamp switch or not on my visual impact is not much difference, because the computer monitor is already very bright.

So I’m going to turn off the desk lamp for one night to study, I found that the effect is also quite good, it helps me save about 100w of electricity!

Method 4: Reduce the use of small electrical appliances
At the same time, I have also reduced the use of hot water kettle and hair dryer, I found that the cold water brewing coffee also has a good flavor, my hair more with a towel can be natural drying quickly, and natural drying can also protect the hair quality.
By reducing the use of hot water kettle and hair dryer, I can save 700W of electricity a day!

By cutting down on my electrical usage today I saved a total of 1.683Kw, so today I used about 3.917w of electricity, which meet my 4Kw goal!!
If I keep on changing my diet with reducing electrical usage, I can save even more electricity~

--

--