Day 3: Participate in the Energy Community

Yaxin Ran
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 18, 2023

Although I have already reached my 4Kw energy saving goal, I am thinking about how to save energy more efficiently and encourage more people to participate in energy saving.

My roommate used to cook separately from me, but I thought that two people cooking together would consume less electricity on average, so I invited her to cook with me, and I also invited another student to eat with me.

The meal we three cooked together

Statistics showed that the total power consumed by the three of us (600w) was similar to the power consumed by me (400w), but the average power consumed by one person was only 200w.

So eating together can actually save electricity, but I think it is important not to have too many people, otherwise the cooking time will be longer.

Through this three-day energy-saving trip, I realized that there are many simple things in my life that can save a lot of energy. I think this experience is very meaningful to me, because I saw that I can personally make a small and simple contribution to the field of green energy saving, and at the same time, it also made me realize the significance of the energy community and the necessity of it.

--

--