Embracing this new quest

Miriam Cianci
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 20, 2023

In a world where energy conservation is an ever-pressing concern, we often overlook the opportunities right at our fingertips to reduce our daily electricity consumption. Let’s start this journey on electrical expenditure consciousness with some numbers. I tried to calculate my current energy consumption concerning the devices I frequently use. Along with the list of devices and their respective consumption, I noted the duration of use for each and quickly calculated their daily consumption.

Desk light 0.010 kW/h x 3h = 0.03 kW/day

Laptop: 0.086 kW/h x 8h= 0.688 kW/day

Hair Dryer: 0.023 kW/h x 0.4h= 0.0092 kW/day

Hair Straightener: 0.025 kW/h x 0.5h= 0.0125

Rice Cooker: 0.31 kW/h x 0.5h= 0.155

Fridge 0.15 kW/h x 24h= 3.6 kW/day

Washing Machine: 0.3 kW/h x 0.5h= 0.15 kW/day

Cellphone battery charging: 0.0318 kW/h x 1h= 0.0318 kW

Before starting with the actual challenge, I should choose what to prioritize. Unfortunately, due to my current lifestyle, it’s impossible to me to cut on my daily laptop usage. Then, the fridge was a definite keeper, especially since I live with my two roommates, just like our weekly washing machine cycles that are done at 20 degrees. Luckily, we already are conscious people about electrical expenditure, even tough we started doing this to save money, it is a good practice to do to be environmentally mindful.

The first thing that came to my mind when I confronted myself with what I could do to reduce my energy consumption were the appliances I use daily to style my hair. So, I challenged myself to embrace my natural hair look and opt for a more low-maintenance style. It means saying goodbye to the daily ritual of blow-drying and straightening, which is definitely intimidating.

Let’s see how it goes.

--

--