Getting used to the challenge

Bianca Selvatici
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 11, 2023

Last time I forgot to write down my daily consumption and according to my calculations (not great at math but I hope they reliable ;)) I used to use approximately 4.6 kWh per day.

The biggest spot in the consumption mix is taken by the cooking stove (1,7 kWh per day) the water heater (1 kWh per day) and the fridge (1,25 kWh per day) with 3,95 kWh total.

In the past few days I started to adjust my routine in order to consume less energy. The first thing that I have done was using only my abat jour and candles to light up the house, this was not a big change for me because me and my flat mate started doing this when the bills started to grow last year.

The second things that I decided to do was renounce to my morning tea so I don’t have to use the microwave anymore.

Going on with my changes I stopped using my hair drier and I just stay more time with the towel in my hair.

All these changes summed with not using the washing machine this week and not using the mosquito killer approximately makes me save around 0.6 kWh per day. I thought this little changes could have a more profound impact on my daily consumption but it isn’t so.

To reduce more my consumption I had to play around with my cooking energy consumption and water heating. I’m leaving the fridge out because my flatmate doesn’t want to unplug it.

In the past few days I decided to only use one burner of the cooking stove for 7 minutes max per meal. I’m using it to heat bread and to cook veggie burger, so quick thing like these.

For the water heater I’m washing my hand and dishes with cold water.

--

--