“Let´s play dominoes”

Sandra Quintana
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
4 min readOct 5, 2023

Specifically the day the first class of DESIGN AND RESEARCH METHODS started, I had read the news in my country about the measures of the national electro-energy system, which is going through a very tense stage due to the failure of several high generation thermoelectric power plants and the lack of fuel. This is a very sensitive issue.

I arrived in Milan a day before classes started and until yesterday I had not managed to get a rental contract. I am experiencing too many new things, and I still have a lot of worries with paperwork, so my defense mechanism this time has not yet allowed me to consciously alter my electricity consumption. Saturday I move in, and that’s the day I want to take on this new stage of my life with my body storming.

Although I have not yet altered my consumption, all week I have been thinking quite a bit about this assignment. It feels very strange to me precisely because I’m used to it. I’ve gone weeks without access to electricity, and basically I’d like to try to explain the domino effect it creates. To that end, and perhaps because I miss my family, I can’t find a better way to explain it than this:

19/09/20XX

-Grandma: Rubiera is on TV. He says a hurricane is coming. September is always the same. Oh, God, we have to protect the windows and charge the lamps!

*Rubiera (Ph.D José Rubiera) is the Meteorologist who always announces all the most relevant meteorological events in Cuba.

21/09/20XX

-Grandmother: Look at that, the wind hasn’t started yet and they’ve already taken down the lights! Ah no, it’s already here! Ah, they took it off again. Light the candle.

-Me: I ran out of battery on the laptop, I didn’t save the file. No, not again. Well, I’m going to the living room.

*When the power goes out, my family always gathers in one room to save the energy of the rechargeable lamp, or candles. We always talk a lot.

22/09/20XX

-Uncle: I heard that a lot of trees have fallen.

-Aunt: I walked by the park this morning and saw the tree knocked down the wires. It looks like it was the same thing on 32nd Street.

-Me: How long are we going to be without electricity?

Grandma: Get ready…

23/09/20XX

-Sister: I’m going to work, there is electricity in Old Havana.

-Me: Tata, please take my cell phone and charge it for me.

-Mom: The refrigerator is defrosting. What do we do?

-Grandma: The water has run out, and since the water pump is not working, that’s as far as we’ve come. Good thing we filled some buckets before all this happened.

25/09/20XX

All sitting on the balcony.

-Dad: This is inhuman, it’s so hot. I’ve heard that people are bringing in power plants from abroad, like the one the Chilean across the street has. They run on gasoline, but they must be very expensive.

-Sister: I imagine the Chilean is not enjoying electricity very much, because literally the whole neighborhood is sitting on balconies. We need solar panels. Now, because of the smart city project, we want to import some for A+ Espacios Creativos…

26/09/20XX

-Grandma: The gas is out. Good thing we have bread.

29/09/20XX

-Aunt: Migdalia says the guys from the electric company are already on 32nd Street. Finally!

-Grandmother: But since when? What time do they finish? Sandra, go to your aunt, take a coffee to those guys and find out if they finish today.

-Me: Grandmaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

*About 40 neighbors had already taken water, food and coffee to the guys who were fixing the transformer on 32nd street, but we still left it for later, because they had to continue working in the early morning.

30/09/20XX

-Dad: Are we going to play dominoes?

-Me: Dale papi.

*Suddenly the light goes on.

And so much for the story of the domino effect, which is basically one of the most joyful sensations you can experience. It begins with foresight and continues with planning, gossip, desperation, patience, family, community and, finally, hope.

As an urbanization is organized today, the lack of electricity threatens basic needs, from food storage and preparation to access to clean water, not to mention the proper development of public services. However, at some point mankind knew how to live without electricity, so it is not impossible. In my country, we somehow survived blackouts, and I guess that’s why we are like that, close to the family, optimistic and resilient.

Based on a true story

*Cuban dominoes have practically become a national sport or hobby. On any street corner you can find people playing dominoes at any time, and it is common at family gatherings or friends’ parties.

--

--