Lowering energy consumptions when cooking

Giovanni Malausa
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 18, 2023

One of the most energy consuming activities in my household is cooking.
I have recently switched from a gas stove to an induction one: among the many advantages, it is also fairly easy to track consumption, compared to before.

As I am pretty regular in my own habits, I tend to always use my pot for cooking: it is the perfect size for making pasta for one or two people.

My new housemate, on the other hand, often uses a much bigger pot.

I started noticing that the boiling time varies significantly depending on the size of the casserole, when using a similar amount of water.

If both pots are filled with the same amount of water and covered with a lid, the larger and taller one needs a few more minutes of electricity to reach the boiling point.

After these findings, I always try to pay attention and use the pot or pan which is right for each specific need, choosing the size depending on the quantity of the food that I have to cook.

--

--

Giovanni Malausa
Living with 4kW per day in 2023

I'm a Communication Designer, photographer and film maker. I study Product Service System Design at Politecnico di Milano, Italy.