Reducing the Carbon Footprint: My Sustainable Mobility Journey in Milan

Aashka Dhebar
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 26, 2023

Stepping off the plane from the bustling streets of India into the heart of Milan, I knew my life was about to undergo a profound transformation. Beyond the cultural shift, there was an unexpected challenge: living within the constraints of 4 kilowatts (kW) of energy per day. This journey was a transformative experience, and one of the key aspects I embraced in Milan is sustainable mobility.

The city’s efficient public transport system of trams, buses, and the metro was not just a mode of getting from point A to point B, but a way of embracing a more sustainable lifestyle. It significantly reduced my carbon footprint and introduced me to a city where commuting was hassle-free and eco-friendly.

As I embraced Milan’s sustainable mobility options, I realized that the joy of exploring the city was not limited to the destinations but extended to the journey itself. The trams and buses offered me a unique perspective, allowing me to appreciate the city’s architectural beauty and urban charm. Milan was a city best experienced with the freedom of public transport, allowing me to be eco-conscious without compromising on convenience.

Milan’s dedication to sustainable mobility served as a daily reminder that every small choice could contribute to a greener and more eco-friendly future. It was a city that offered a blueprint for how sustainable living could be seamlessly integrated into daily life.

--

--