Regarding Conserving

Kezia Jane Rivan
2 min readOct 20, 2023

--

After my quest to learn how to conserve — I was left with few thoughts lingering on my mind. Why do I need to conserve? Will anything I do make a difference?

Here I will reflect my results of conserving, and try to see the results that I achieved in this challenge.

One thing I’m really proud of achieving during this challenge is that I managed to reduce my daily phone usage drastically!

My daily average screen time this week (smartphone)

Probably the amount of things I have to do these weeks lessen the amount of time I scroll through social media. I also went out more, and stayed idle inside less. But sadly my laptop usage is higher than usual, because of assignments that I have to do.

My daily average screen time this week (laptop)

Previously, I live with around 11kW/day.

Example of one day in my life during this week :
I use smartphone for 2 hours, laptop for 6 hours, electric stove once for 15 minutes, microwave for reheating for 15 minutes, fridge on for 24 hours, and lights for 2 hours, I would be spending about…

=17.37*2/1000+68*6/1000+0.5+0.175+0.7+0.1*2

=2.01 kW per day.

From 11kW per day, I went to only 2 kW per day. That’s a 9 kW difference!

Electricity rate in Milan is typically listed as a cost per kilowatt-hour (kWh), such as €0.20 per kWh. I would be saving approximately €54 per month on my electricity bill, if I use 2 kW per day compared to 11 kW per day.

In a year, I would be saving €648, which can be used to buy other things that I need more, such as food, or maybe to donate to other people in need.

By reading other sources, I found out that significantly lowering energy consumption has a positive impact on the environment by lowering the release of greenhouse gases and reducing air pollution. This contributes to the fight against climate change and results in cleaner air quality.

I’m glad that I did this challenge. It made me rethink my daily routine, and changed my mindset on how I should live my life from here on out.

--

--