Riding in Milan 🚴‍♀️

Chiara Mazzeo
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 20, 2023

The challenges of cycling are many: the cold, go to the garage to pick it up and pedal. Even the road has several obstacles that sometimes put my safety at risk. For example, there is an underpass that I only do in the morning. On the way back I take a longer road because in the dark I am afraid of the homeless who go to take refuge under the bridge. Milan is not a city for those who want to ride a bike. Nevertheless, I prefer for various reasons: the time taken to reach the university is much less than the means of transport. The vehicles are also often full of people and dangerous, and I do not like to wait for them, especially buses, which are almost always late.
I believe that the bike is a mean that combines sustainability and low budget. Plus I like to exercise in the morning, it helps me think and start the day well.

I use the bicycle everyday, but sometimes I take the public transportation. Yesterday I forced myself not to use the transports. I went to the university, then I went to visit Frog with Politecnico and I took only 15 minutes to go there. Then I went to the cinema with my friends that was 5 minutes from the office where I was. The problem arrived when I had to go home: it was so far from home. Anyway, I had to use the bycicle. I took 30 minutes to go and most of it didn’t have the bicycle path. At the end I was very tired but happy with having been more green and having done some work out at night. Overall it was a good experience.

--

--