Save energy by changing ways and frequency I cook

Linwei Yu
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 30, 2023

1.Chinese cooking habits can fill the room with smoke, so I used to like to leave the hood on for a long time after cooking, but now I try to cook with the window open, which reduces the concentration of smoke in the room. In addition, I will turn off the lampblack immediately after cooking instead of leaving it on until the lampblack is over. And I hardly ever make soup during this time, which usually requires stewing the ribs for at least two hours, which uses a lot of electricity. Also, I try to make sandwiches instead of a whole table.

2.Reduce electricity by cooking staple foods less often. My roommates are all Chinese and we have different meal schedules, so we always cook rice many times a day, but in these two weeks we will change our cooking habits. We now cook several meals a day in a rice cooker and try to schedule our meals at the same time. We do food sharing, so not only do we save electricity, but we eat a lot of different foods! If we can’t run out of rice, I will heat the other food at the same time as the rice.

Edit in 20/10 2023

--

--