Second day of low-energy challenge

Alessandra Coppola
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 20, 2023

Curling my hair without electricity

Yesterday, I had fun trying a new challenge to reduce my energy consumption. I went to the gym to work out, and after my exercise, I took my usual shower, which is definitely the most rewarding moment of the day. I washed my hair as usual, but this time I wanted to do things differently. I gave up my usual go-to: the hair dryer, to try a more sustainable and energy-free way to style my hair. Since the next day, I was going to have a busy day at school, I didn’t want to look like a lion and wanted to have a good hair day. So, that’s what I did.

After letting my hair air dry (hopefully, I won’t get sick since it was raining outside🥲), I decided to style it using a technique I found online: using the bathrobe tie to curl it.

I divided my hair into sections and wrapped them around the robe’s cord, twisting them as if they were large braids. After securing both with hair ties, I tied them at the back and went to sleep.

Today, I woke up, and my hair was very wavy! Of course, I was running late as usual and was about to miss the train, so this move saved me from wasting time combing them. Again, definitely a double win!

I’m glad I tried this technique. I had a lot of fun experimenting with it, and I’ll definitely use it more often. This is going to help me save a lot of energy from using the hair dryer/curler and a lot of time in the morning!😊

--

--