Slow but steady

David Martinez
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 19, 2023

I continue to check things off my list of methods to reduce energy consumption to 4kW a day.

Turning off my laptop instead of just leaving it in sleep mode has been one habit hard to change, specially because I have noticed how many times I do this on a day. It is not convenient every time so I am trying to do it at least during lunch and before going to bed.

Opening the kitchen in the window instead of using the stove extractor was easy, I like fresh air, it does the same job and doesn’t affect my process of cooking. Everything well until my roommate told me he has seen rats around the building and that we should keep the window closed (it’s actually a glass door so it is at floor level). Sorry energy consumption goals, I can’t open the window, at least at night.

Last method was to use only one burner on the stove instead of two. I used to heat food on two different burners, just to do it quickly; what I noticed is that I have a big pan and a big burner, I could heat two things at the same time in the same pan. That was interesting, it worked, I also only need to wash one pan

(It smelled really good so I forgot to take a picture but this is what it looked like:)

Heating pork and mashed potatoes together. Created with AI.

This is how my list ended up, items in yellow are being completed partially

✅ Unplugging my phone right after it is charged.

✅ Unplugging my laptop right after it is charged (instead of working all the time with it plugged in).

⚠️ Turning off my laptop instead of just leaving it in sleep mode.

✅ Unplugging the washing machine and microwave to avoid standby consumption.

✅ Stop using two burners on the stove, I think I can use just one and optimize what I cook.

⚠️ Stop using the stove extractor, I have a window next to it, I can open it.

And this is how my consumption ended up:

--

--