The change of cooking

Junyan Lu
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 19, 2023

As I continued my 4kWh living challenge, I quickly realized that one of the most important areas affected by this experiment was my cooking. Cooking has always been a passion of mine and it is an important part of my daily life. However, due to severe energy restrictions, I had to rethink and adjust my cooking habits.

On the first day of this cooking transformation, I started by checking the energy consumption of my kitchen appliances. I quickly discovered that my electric stove and oven were some of the most energy-hungry appliances. To cope with this limitation, I decided to use alternative cooking methods such as gas stoves and microwaves, both of which consume much less energy. This means I have to be more creative with my meal plans, since microwave and stovetop cooking require different techniques than an oven.

Additionally, I started cooking during the day to take advantage of natural light, thus reducing the need for artificial lighting. Not only did this change save me money on electricity, it also connected me to the rhythm of my day and made me feel more in sync with nature.

Additionally, I’ve come to embrace the art of slow cooking. During this challenge, the slow cooker and slow cooker became my best friends. They use far less energy than traditional cooking methods, allowing me to create delicious, tender dishes using low-and-slow cooking methods.

The 4kWh limit inspires me to be more conscious about reducing food waste. I started meal planning to ensure I was using all my ingredients efficiently, and I became an expert at repurposing leftovers to create new and exciting dishes.

Despite the initial challenges, this journey has changed the way I cook and eat. It taught me that eco-friendly cooking is not only possible, but can also be a delicious and rewarding experience. As I continue on this energy-conscious path, I look forward to exploring new recipes, local flavors, and sustainable cooking methods that not only reduce my environmental impact but also bring joy to my kitchen.

--

--