The importance of daylight and the discovery of meal prepping

Paola Rapino
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 18, 2023

After one week into the bodystorming challenge, one of the things that changed the most in my daily routine is the importance of natural light, and making the most of the warmer hours of the day. I woke up every day thanks to natural light: since I am quite sensitive to light when sleeping, I managed to wake up without setting an alarm. This, however, is going to be harder to do in the cooler seasons, since I won’t be able to leave the window shutters open if the temperature is too low outside.

Throughout the day, daylight became important in the schedule of using appliances as well, since the amount of energy from the PV panels on my roof is guaranteed from approximately 9 in the morning to 16 in the afternoon, therefore, it’s better to use appliances in this part of the day.

The second aspect that changed a lot is my diet during this period: I started eating even more fruit and raw vegetables than I already did, in order to further reduce my energy consumption.
Furthermore, I started meal prepping, especially for my packed lunches for university days: to my surprise, this resulted in healthier and more satisfying meals, since I stopped cooking fast every morning before going out and always cooking the same pasta.

In everyday small choice, I aimed for frugality, successfully staying under the 4kW limit and reinforcing the notion that small details lead to substantial change in energy consumption.

--

--