The little things that count!

Benthe
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 9, 2023

When I heard about the assignment for the first time I felt resistance… I was afraid it would be difficult to make it happen during my exchange period and with my new house mates. However, last week I started with doing some research and creating a list of all the appliances I use and while doing this I gained more confidence! I read online about ideas to reduce energy and decided to go for it and make a plan.

The appliances I use are the following: fridge, microwave, toaster, light, oven, dishwasher, stove, washing machine, shower, toothbrush charger, phone, laptop, hairdryer and vacuum cleaner.

My plan consists of three parts:

  • The little things count! This is the main part of my plan. I will try to reduce my energy consumption by using many different appliances less or in another way. To me this sounds more feasible than to stop using big appliances.
  • Working together. I convinced my house mates to try reducing some energy by doing activities together: e.g. cooking and doing laundry.
  • Stop using luxury appliances. I will stop using my hairdryer, toaster, the elevator in my apartment and the dishwasher.

Instead of using my electric toothbrush, I bought a normal one that I can use. This is no effort for me, and in this way I do not have to charge the electric one.

Furthermore, we cooked dinner for all our six housemates together. Normally everyone cooks their own dish, but cooking together is more energy efficient and more fun!

In addition, I will stop being lazy and skip the elevator in my apartment. I use it all the time, which is a waste of energy. From now on, I will use the stairs.

Tomorrow, I will try other tricks and activities to reduce my energy consumption!

--

--