Unpluging Appliances

Xinyi Zhu
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 21, 2023

--

Since I need to charge various digital products and electrical appliances every day, I am used to keeping the charger plugged into the socket because it is more convenient. When I began the bodystorming, I saw the plugs in my socket without connecting to any digital products and started wondering if it consumes electricity. So I searched for the information online and found that it still consumes electricity and what’s more, it has security risks! The voltage transformation principle of the charger is electromagnetic induction. There is a coil in the transformer that is connected to the power supply. When the current passes through, a magnetic field is generated, which generates alternating current at different voltages. It is then converted into direct current through a rectifier circuit and other processes to charge the digital products like mobile phones. Generally speaking, chargers that are not unplugged from the socket and are not connected to electrical appliances are in the “no-load” state. Since there is still current flowing through the charger when it is no-load, the charger will consume power. Therefore, as long as the charger is not unplugged, a coil will be working all the time, consuming power.

So how much electricity is consumed approximately per day?

Someone once conducted an experiment and found that a charger that has not been unplugged will consume 0.07 kilowatt-hours of electricity in 24 hours. Each kilowatt-hour of electricity is charged at 0.294 euros in italy, so an extra 7.51 euros in electricity bills will be paid in a year. Although this number may not seem like much, it adds up. If 100 million or 1 billion people don’t pull out the charger, how much power will be consumed this year? There are undoubtedly many. So I am changing my habits these days and I believe I can save much energy in a long time.

--

--