Use Energy Smarter

Junyan Lu
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 18, 2023

On my 4kWh living challenge, I felt a mix of excitement and a bit of worry. This activity isn’t just a fun experiment for me, but it also makes me think about how I live. After all, sticking to a strict 4kWh limit on daily energy use is pretty tough, but I’m sure it will help me be more careful with resources and use energy smarter.

First, I looked at all the appliances in my home. I found out I have a lot of things like TVs, fridges, and washing machines that use electricity. When I realized this, I started thinking about how to use less energy. I decided to do things like using LED light bulbs, setting appliances to use less power, and doing laundry and dishes at times when electricity is cheaper.

On the first day, I figured out that keeping within the 4kWh limit is not easy. I spent more time washing dishes by hand instead of using the dishwasher, and I used some energy from solar panels. I also turned off stuff like the TV and computer when I wasn’t using them to save energy. This made me realize how precious electricity is.

Even though the first day had its challenges, I learned a lot. I paid more attention to the little things in life and thought more about wasting energy. This challenge made me rethink my lifestyle and inspired me to find ways to be more eco-friendly and use energy better. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the days will bring and how I can make a small contribution to protecting the environment.

--

--