Walk Walk Walk!

Sophianx
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 20, 2023

I have found that research has shown that choosing to travel short distances on foot rather than by car has significant environmental benefits over the course of a year. It has been calculated that completing five 2km journeys per week on foot instead of in a car reduces emissions by 86kg per year. My main means of travelling from home to school is by underground and bus, which is only a 12-minute walk if I take the bus, and about a 30-minute walk if I take the underground. Either way public transport is a very environmentally friendly way of travelling, but if I choose to take the metro I will spend more time walking, which is not only environmentally friendly but also healthy and I can get some exercise on the way to school and home. So on the body storming opportunity I take the metro to school every day and walk from the metro station to school which I think is great!

--

--