Wash your hair without water

Ayano Osawa
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
2 min readOct 20, 2023

It was clear from the first analysis that the use of hot showers also accounts for a large proportion of my daily electricity consumption.

However, I really don’t like cold showers. Also there is the option of not showering to save energy, but I don’t think that is a very favourable solution from a hygiene point of view. So I decided to look for improvements in the use of showers in a less stressful way while ensuring these premises. The reduction of the time spent in the shower, for example, is a factor for improvement.

Then I immediately remembered that I had brought dry shampoo from Japan as a solution to the long plane ride, which meant no showering for long time.

As spray-type products cannot be brought in to the plane, I bought sheet-type ones

The feeling is that it reduces the stickiness of the hair and refreshes the scalp. It is not exactly the same as when you shampoo your hair, but at least you get a sense that at least a minimum level of pollution is removed and there is a refreshing sensation.
In Japan, the spray type has been particularly popular since this summer to decrease discomfort in summer, and although the spray type is the mainstream, I saw sheet types like this in shops too. The product is also useful as part of an emergency kit and for people in hospital or other situations where it is not possible to take a shower.

Using this product has allowed me to skip shampoo time and spend more than 10 minutes less time in the shower.

I checked and found that many kinds of dry shampoo are available on Amazon Italy, so I will try other products when I run out of the one I am using now.

--

--