Water?

Cecilia Pizzagalli
Living with 4kW per day in 2023
1 min readOct 20, 2023

Today I decided to limit my water consumption to 60 liters, a challenge that has radically transformed my daily routine. I started the day with a short shower and turned off the faucet while shaving and brushing my teeth. Hand washing was also done carefully to avoid waste. During breakfast, I preferred fruit that did not require abundant washing.

Washing dishes was a slower process, making them in batches to reduce water use. I used a basin to collect the water used to rinse the dishes, which I then poured on the plant in the apartment.

Water management in the kitchen was the biggest challenge. I cooked carefully, preferring dishes that required less water for preparation. I reused the water from the pasta to cook the vegetables, trying to maximize every drop.

This experience made me appreciate the importance of water and made me more aware of its daily use. It has also led me to look for creative solutions to reduce water waste in my daily life. From now on I will be more careful!

--

--