A look into my last two weeks

Margherita Brun
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 29, 2022

day 1: I started to unplug devices that I usually left plugged by habit, such as computer, tablet, phone ecc. I also stopped using my straightener for my hair and wore them natural together with not blow dry them after the shower, sometimes not a good look.

day 5: I decided to wash my clothes less often, I used to wash my clothes every 5 days, and now I tried to do that about every 8–9 days. I also tried to do laundry in the evening to save money but it was not a good idea at all since I forgot that my washing machine is very loud and it takes 2h30 to finish a cycle and I started it at 22, I thought I was probably getting evicted soon because of the noise.

Day 9: I still keep my devices unplugged if not needed and I’m still washing my clothes less often. I remembered the example made in class about someone eating only cold food to save energy. I like that idea, mostly because I’m lazy, so I was in. Canned Beans and corn, vegetables, fruits and again beans were my friends on this journey, but I will probably need to take a break from them. I discovered that eating an avocado (from Sicily!) with salt, pepper and hot sauce is a pretty tasty snack. During the last weeks, I needed to study for my graduation and the master, so because I hate studying alone I went to study on campus a lot with friends that were in the same situation. Doing so I saved on energy consumed by the light because I was staying in the university’s library, where lights are on for multiple people. I think I wasn’t a person that used too much energy before this experiment, at the same time this has been helpful to be aware of how much I consume and how I can get better at saving energy.

--

--