A new way to wash

Aurora Chiaravalloti
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 26, 2022

It’s been my first week of this challenge and as everyone else I am struggling.

Counting how much energy I am consuming is kind of difficult and I forget about it. And with this I put in perspective how privileged one can be. Also because for me this is “just a challenge” and for others this is a reality they cannot change. But I am finding it a good exercise to shake my European privileged life.

So in my last article I said that I was gonna use fully my clothes before putting them in the dirty pile. So I looked for an article with some advice on how much you should wear your clothes before washing them.

Here you can read it (https://www.businessinsider.com/youre-washing-your-clothes-too-much-2013-3?r=US&IR=T)

For right now I am just accumulating the dirty clothes in a pile as I said, and as soon as it will be enough for a laundry I will wash them. As for underwear I am washing it by hand but I am following a trick from a friend from Costa Rica, that I met during my Erasmus.

Disclaimer: this may sound crazy to some of you.

Photo by kevin Baquerizo on Unsplash

In order to not run out of underwear, each time she showered she would bring the underwear she used that day inside the shower and wash it. At the beginning I was questioning this habit, but then it made sense. Beside the fact that with this trick you never run out of underwear, which is something I experienced more when leaving alone because before you have whole pile to wash of either only white, colorful or dark clothes to match the underwear you need to wash, it takes a bit. This trick saves me energy, water and time. Since you are already using soap and water why not using that to clean something else. It makes a lot of sense.

This gives us a good example of the importance of utilizing the most out of what we are doing or we have done in order to do multiple things with the same energy or resources.

--

--