A round-the-clock consumption

Stefania Mariani
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 29, 2022

Day 3: Today I’ve started to reflect on those fixed consumes that I was not taking in consideration before. The first one is the fridge, mine has a consumption of 100 W approximately. It means that the consumption per day amounts to 2.4 kWh. It is a lot considering that the goal is living under 4 W per day, but how can we do without the fridge? During cold months one possibility could be the one of keeping everything outside. In my house for example I have a small balcony in the kitchen that could be used as an outer storage for food that needs to stay in the fridge, but it is still too warm outside. A good practice could be doing mindful grocery, planning future meals, buying just the food we want to eat in the short term and also opening packages just when we’re sure that we are going to finish them. This is also a practice that could help in avoiding food waist, another big issue nowadays.

The second device I haven’t analysed yet is the washing machine. Mine is a Indesit WISL 66, which consumes 1850 W. As it usually takes 70 minutes to complete the washing cycle, it can be stated that it consumes 2,1 kWh per cycle. It is a lot taken singularly in consideration, but I have to say that I’m always carful trying to maximise the machine cycles and I usually need it just twice a week, which makes a consumption of 0,53 kWh a day, which can be contained in the 4 kWh expected cap. A good habit can also be starting to wash things by hand, which is something that I’m already doing when I need to was a specific material that I don’t feel confident in throwing in the washing machine, but I have to say that it takes much more time and the washing machine can be really helpful.

--

--