Celebrating my Latin American Ways

Domenica Lecca
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 24, 2022

One of the things that I have noticed while doing this exercise is how much energy I already do not consume. I do have some sins. I love playing Animal Crossing and watching Tok Toks to relax. However as mentioned in my last post, I have noticed some main offenders missing form my consumption list.

The practices that help me conserve the most energy (2.5 kWh to bee precise), are those that I learned from my mother. She grew up in a very small town in the south of Peru, and I remember even when I visited family there in the 90s that most houses did not have a constant flow of energy.

Since we where very little (and living in a much more privileged situation) she made sure that we where aware of energy consumption and how it affects those around us (and let’s be real, the economy of the home). So I still sometimes study in darkness to the detriment of my poor eyes just because I can hear her saying “luz que apagas, los que no pages”, a very sing-songy way of making her daughters remember that turning off a light reduces the electric bill.

Im now keeping a note of the saying inn my moms handwriting as a nice treat

So now seeing the numbers in the computer Im proud to keep doing some of the things that seem counter productive but energy saving. I will keep air drying my hair, even though my new Italian neighbors are concerned for my health, I will keep using cold water of everything and I will keep washing my delicates by hand so that they last longer and yes, I mean my underwear.

(REFERENCE PICTURE: This is NOT my real underwear)

--

--