Chapter 2- Manahil’s adventures in the appliance-less land (Strategies)

Manahil Huda
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 27, 2022

Read chapter 1 of my adventures here: https://medium.com/p/950083539808

Trade-offs?

I have noticed that it is all about trade-offs. What are you willing to spend on and what is cheaper? For example, if I heat my food in the microwave, I can heat it directly in the plate I am going to eat it in. If I heat my food on the stove, then I have to put it in another pot. Often, food sticks to the pot when you reheat it on the stove, which means a lot of water is consumed in cleaning the pot. So I can’t seem to decide which one is better? Am I willing to spend on the electricity bill when the microwave is running? Or am I willing to spend on the gas bill of the stove and the water bill to clean pots after re-heating?

To microwave or not to microwave? A bigger question these days for me compared to “to be or not to be?”

Another example of this could be lights vs the AC. If I reduce the usage of bulbs in my room, then I have to open the curtains for sunlight to come in. But, with sunlight comes a lot of heat because it is still summer in Karachi, which means the room will get warm really quickly and I will have to run the AC more. But in this case, since I am saving a lot more money and power by running the AC less, I made the trade-off of keeping my curtains closed mostly. I opened them early in the morning or at the golden hour in the evening when the sun is not so harsh.

Some other strategies I am using to avoid using certain appliances and reduce the usage of other appliances as mentioned in Chapter 1:

  • Not using a hair dryer and hair straightener, and letting the hair air dry naturally. This means I have to learn to live with frizzy hair in the humid weather in Karachi.
  • Wearing clothes that don’t need to be ironed, e.g. T-shirts. Cultural constraints come into play here since one can’t wear a T-shirt everywhere in the city. In certain settings the traditional shalwar kameez is more appropriate, however mostly they needs to be ironed otherwise they look really unpresentable. Someone told me a tip to wear un-ironed shalwar kameez right after I have taken a shower, the moisture from the body helps smoothen the creases on the clothes (apparently!). So I am going to try this strategy.
  • Keeping appliances unplugged when not in use. I was already habitual of this (thanks to incessant scolding from parents on this in my childhood), but now I am being extra vigilant.
  • Reading more books and watching less shows. I had a few books that I have been meaning to read but often I just end up binge watching stuff on Netflix or video calling my friends using my phone/tablet instead. Since I was making a conscious effort to not use my laptop, phone and tablet a lot, I actually got a lot more reading done, which is perfect!
  • Arrange clothes really properly on the drying wire after washing. If they are spread out neatly, they don’t wrinkle as much and hence don’t need to be ironed.
Hanging clothes neatly for drying after washing, takes a couple extra minutes but does the job
Un-ironed shirt after drying with the afore-mentioned strategy, doesn’t look as crumpled as when I put clothes for drying in a hurry. Definitely can be worn without ironing (yay!)

--

--