Energy Cutting Plan-2

Okun.Xin
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 27, 2022

It’s the third day we established the Energy Cutting Plan for our house.

Day2–3

iCut:

  1. Heat mineral water to 40 Celsius instead of 100 Celsius.

Due to the suitable temperature in the last two days, I didn’t use my electric kettle. Instead of using the microwave to heat my breakfast only, now I put a big bowl with full water in it, too. And then I put the hot water into my thermos cup.

So by using this method, I can get rid of my electric kettle at least for autumn!

2. Use a normal toothbrush instead of an electric toothbrush.

I got my new toothbrush. I can get rid of my electric toothbrush, too!

3. Send online messages instead of using my sticky note printer.

For this one, I have to say that stopping using it is impossible for me. So I make a deal with my friend that only check the printer at a fixed time so we don’t need to open it all day long.

4. Reduce the time of using the high-power bedroom lights.

Done it. Though I felt a little bit uncomfortable, especially when I worked on the paper late at night, I still obeyed this rule.

weCut:

1. Cool for all as much as possible.

This rule is the most difficult one above all because we all have different schedules even on the weekend and different meal plans. So in the last two days, I just cooked Stir-fried Pork with Celery, leftover braised pork from last time, and a pizza for two roommates, which reduced the usage of rang hood and natural gas stove twice, and the usage of the oven once(because I don’t eat pizza).

And even though roommates will cook together, due to different meal plans, they all cook on their own devices, such as an oven, natural gas stove, pressure cooker, etc. Due to this situation, the electric switch had automatically closed more than 5 times! The closing of the electric switch really made us think. Someone wanna increase the upper limit of instantaneous power consumption. But doing this will lead to much higher electricity prices. So we refused this idea. I think we will do better in the future.

2. Do laundry together to reduce the use of the drum washing machine.

I’ve required them to ask if others need to do laundry when they don’t have so many clothes to wash. So from the feedback of our chat records, we didn’t pair successfully.

3. Lower the maximum temperature of the bathroom water heater from 80 Celsius to 60 Celsius.

Done. And keep the status quo.

4. Close all the lights after using them immediately.

This mission was performing poorly in the last two days even though I’ve mentioned this problem in our chat every night at 20:00. Now I’ve decided to do a reminder in the aisle. Let’s see how will it work next time!

--

--