Energy Reduction:Try Eco-Friendly Haircuts

SportChocolate
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 22, 2022

I used to like going to the barbershop to get my hair cut in China , and think that is very convenient and comfortable.But recently, through the innovation studio course, I came into contact with energy reduction and started to challenge myself to set lower energy consumption.

|Hair clipper :5W = 0.005 kWh | Usually used for half an hour or more.

|Hair dryer : 2000W = 2kWh | Usually used for five minutes or more.

So, my roommate and I decided not to go to the barbershop to cut our hair, we cut each other’s hair with the simplest tools.We went to the supermarket and bought scissors, combs and aprons for cutting hair.Then we sat in front of the mirror in our home and started cutting each other’s hair.

It was an amazing experience, we reduced the energy consumption(such as electricity) during the haircut and achieved the desired results.In our daily life, maybe this is not a difficult thing for us, the difficult thing is to continue this sustainable way of life.

By lowering daily energy consumption standards, I can explore more possibilities for low-energy living in the future.I try to challenge different low-energy lifestyles and keep it as a habit or behavior ,which is really meaningful and worthwhile for me.

--

--