EP 1: TAKE AWAY EVERYTHING BUT NOT RICE

Gaia Drago
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 21, 2022

Hi everybody! As all of you, I’m currently joining this challenging goal to lower my daily energy consumption which is of roughly 6,7 kWh (not so bad after all). In order to do so, I needed to check where the most of my consume came from and I was surprisingly -and unpleasantly- stunned that my hair washing routine makes up almost half of my average energy use, because of all the hot rinsing and blowdrying that I have to do. I mean, I’ve always known that my curly hair is kind of an untamed beast, but I did not expect such a reveal.

Rice water in the making

Therefore I took the chance to try something new: some time ago I read that rice water (that’s basically the water you cook your rice in) has tons of benefits if you use it on your hair because it’s rich in vitamins and minerals, such as strength, hair growth and also detangling. In one word: AWESOME. So from now on, everytime I will cook rice -which is more often than you think- I’m going to save the cooking water, store it in my fridge and take it to rinse my hair after shampooing instead of using hot water from the faucet. I’m also trying to give my beloved hairdryer a break and start air drying it, although it’s going to take me a looong time.

So yeah, I’m currently dripping on my computer while I’m writing this because my hair is still wet but it’s worth it I guess. See you on EP 2 for latest updates!

--

--