EP 2: A LIGHT THAT NEVER GOES OUT

Gaia Drago
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 26, 2022

Welcome back everyone! So far these days have been challenging not only to try to stick up to my energy reduction plan, but also to find new ways to cut electricity usage. As an offsite student, there aren’t many appliances in my Milan flat -yes, I still cry for my beloved airfryer that I left at my parent’s house- so day by day I have to make something up to lower my average 6,6 kWh daily usage.

One thing that has really caught my eye this past week is the crazy amount of lamps in my room: I mean I’m aware of my insane obsession with them but I must admit that having 4 of them seems a little too much even for me, so I took that as a starting point to work on. That’s why I decided to order a solar power lantern from Amazon, which seems a good compromise between living off grid and having a really aesthetically pleasing object. All I have to do is place it in the brightest spot in my room and the sunlight will do the magic. The little solar panel on top of the lantern collects the daylight and stores it in the integrated battery inside, which will eventually convert it into a power source for the lightbulb at the nighttime.

This is going to be the charging solar spot

I guess my flatmates are going to see me wandering around the house with my lantern like Ebenezer Scrooge from A Christmas Carol, but at least I’ll bring some festive vibes (in large advance). Already excited for this eco friendly switch in lighting, see you in the next episode!

--

--