Final words

Oona Obrien
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 30, 2022

So what has this challenge taught me?

Let’s quickly recap what changed in my routine during these last two weeks: I stopped using my fridge, gave up on (the luxury of) using the dishwasher, washed all my clothes cold and showered (almost exclusively) with cold water. And I have to say all of it was surprisingly easy! Even convincing my roommate to partake in the challenge was insightful as it gave me insights into what could motivate a person in diminishing her energy consumption.

Our dishwasher, really that useful ?

If anything, this challenge also helped me to realize that I already consumed little energy on a daily basis, my computer being the main source of energy expenditure. Exchanging with my classmates, especially those from Latin America opened my eyes to different daily practices which could help me save energy on the long run. Washing clothes cold for instance was something completely normal for them whereas in Western Europe it’s exceptional to do so. I also learned some valuable information about food preservation and consumption which ties back to my interest for nutrition.

Going to keep it cold from now on !

So overall this challenge was quite a positive one and will leave me with some habits that I will continue implementing on a weekly basis.

--

--