Go study at the café!

Wei
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 27, 2022

As my classes increased, I spent more time studying, which led to me having to leave my house lights and computer on for long periods of time. The first idea that came to my mind was that maybe I could go to a friend’s house to study and have a nice dinner at their house at the same time, but I quickly rejected this idea because the table at their house was not big enough and there was no extra space for me to study.

Then maybe I would have to go to a public study room, library or cafe to study, where the lights are always on in public places and do not increase energy consumption because of my arrival. Of course, for someone like me who needs to eat constantly to refuel while studying, a cafe is the best choice. So on the days when I didn’t have classes for two weeks, I would meet my friends and go to the cafe to study together.
When I came home, my device was always fully charged because I had “stolen” some electricity from the cafe.

I thought that studying with my friends would be less productive because of the conversation. I was surprised to see that I was more productive. Maybe at home, I always take out my cell phone and video games and immerse myself in them, or I often lie in bed.

Anyway, I think I will keep this habit.

--

--