Goodbye to one of my great loves: The Hairdryer

FernandaDib
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 28, 2022
Daily consumption of 2 kWh per day

One of my great loves is the hairdryer, I must confess that our love relationship was born when my mother used to dry my hair with it, made me feel safe, so it brings back positive memories. In this challenge, I understood that she often used the hairdryer in situations where it was not necessary, but that the value was given by me out of habit. Mainly I always used the hairdryer after the shower to dry my hair, which I used to wash daily. If we do the sum, the amount of electricity used weekly is impressive, considering that my hair is long and often after drying it, I used the hair straightener to make it tidier.

Taking advantage of the nice sunny days and good weather that September gave us, my hairdryer stopped being used completely. I decided to dry my hair with a towel to remove the excess water, comb it and then just let it dry in the sun. Since I commute by public transport, I took advantage of every ray of sunshine on the way from my home to the university to dry my hair. I found that even if the day was not completely sunny, the wind helped my hair dry, so the blow dryer was not necessary.

On my way to Politecnico

Additionally, I decided to opt to buy dry shampoo to avoid constantly washing my hair every day. This initiative helped me not to rely on constant washing and only focus on drying my hair in the sun half the days of the week.

--

--