(h)airstyle — less water & energy

miri.ho
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 29, 2022

When we heard about this challenge, my first thought was: I like to reduce my energy consumption in every area, but I can not live without my hair dryer.

As I got deeper into saving energy each day, my naivety slowly waned and I became more aware of what is really important. This challenge has really made me start to pay attention to become aware of my energy consumption.

And what products are really necessary? Only the ones without which I can no longer pursue my aspirations! These are:

  • Laptop charging (study)
  • Charge cell phone (contact to family and friends)
  • cook warm every now and then
  • shower warm
  • electric light when I need it and candles are not bright enough

In addition to blow drying my hair, I also thought about whether I can wash my hair at longer intervals. Because I have long hair and need a lot of time to shower and therefore consume a lot of warm water when showering.

Therefore, I have overcome in the course of the challenge to wash my hair less often. Along with this, I have tried out new hairstyles that I can do without my hairdryer and that also hide when my hair is no longer freshly washed.

Conclusion:
I have also managed to shower only at longer intervals. On some days I thought that it would be enough to wash with a washcloth.
And I needed practice in braiding my hair, because I was really bad at it at the beginning! But the result after a little practice can be seen.

--

--