Living with limited electricity it’s like going back in time

Angelica Rodriguez
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 27, 2022

Being a millennial who has had all my life a refrigerator, a washing machine, hot water at home, appliances and having to limit the use of light, and from day to another having to stop using appliances and wash by hand, is quite a challenge.

Last week I started to wash my clothes by hand, but as expected, they weren’t exactly washed well and I had to call my parents so they could explain to me how they did laundry at home when they didn’t have a washing machine, and I was surprised to realized that it was almost a ritual. They had to put all the clothes in a bucket with soap and water and leave it there for at least an hour, then in the laundry they had to wash each clothes by hand, and make sure that there was no soap left, and then hang it up and wait until the next day to be able to download it and save it, and they had to do this every week, they told me, they used to spend washing from 3 to 4 hours, depending on the volume of clothing.
Obviously, the infrastructure of the houses 40 years ago gave the possibility to go through this whole process, but the space that an apartment like mine has, does not allow this activity to be carried out in the best way. I don’t have a bucket big enough for all my clothes, I don’t have a laundry to wash my clothes, instead I have to use the bathroom sink, which has neither the shape or the space necessary.

The internet, my cell phone, my computer, the microwave, the vacuum cleaner, none of these things would be possible without electricity, and what I realized is that our lives spin around electricity, we depend 100% on it, for So I ask myself, in the event that we run out of resources to generate enough electricity, what are we going to do? how are we going to lead our lives? will we have to relearn from our grandparents the basics to run our homes? here the importance of being aware of this situation, and of the current situation of many people. I am a privileged person, but for how much longer will I be? Now, I see the need to look for alternatives, we have the ability to transform how the future will be, even in the worst scenarios, there is not a minute to lose, and all the knowledge in our favor.

--

--