Lorenzo Giampietri
Living with 4kWh a day
1 min readSep 21, 2022

--

Making light more efficient

I approached the energy consumption challenge in a very analytic way. I started by mapping everything that consume electricity at home, from the oven to the tiny light bulb of the on/off switch of a power strip. I noticed that the energy consumption of my house is quite high fulfilling the needs of 5 people (I live with my parents and two brothers), reaching 13/15kwh a day when using dishwasher, washing machine, oven, vacuum cleaner and iron in the same day (never happened).

IKEA Aesthetic image of some LED panels like the one used in my kitchen

The first thing that comes to mind when trying to reduce energy consumption at home is, obviously, lightning. Tackling lights’ energy consumption doesn’t concern just switching them on only when necessary and always switching them off but it’s also a matter of efficiency. Since the darker seasons are approaching, I mapped what kind of lightbulbs (Incandescent, fluorescent, LED) we were using at home and changed the few old and energy consuming incandescent lightbulbs in favor of newer, brighter and more efficient LED bulbs. This makes a whole difference in energy consumption since an incandescent lightbulb takes an average 0,42 kWh, while the LED Bulb just 0,07kWh!

--

--