New practices

energy awareness

Corrado Vitali
Living with 4kWh a day
1 min readSep 29, 2022

--

It has been a few days now since electricity was allowed to come back into my home. It was quite a pleasure to take a hot shower at home, but I still had to pay attention at my energy consumption in order to cut it by half. Now I actually understand how my father felt when he kept telling me to turn off the lights when I was not in the room…

In order to reduce my energy consumption, I followed some trick and tips I got around medium and the internet. So, first of all I stopped using the hairdryer and the dishwasher, and I didn’t use my washing machine and dryer because as you know from my last article, I asked my mother to do it for me (she thought I was just being lazy not doing my laundry, she didn’t understand how passionate I am about energy saving). I also started paying more attention to always unplug everything I’m not using at the very moment.

I don’t think that doing all of this is cutting my energy consumption in half, but these are practices that I could adopt on the long run and not just as a few days challenge.

--

--