No more electric scooter

Wei
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 23, 2022

I often ride my electric scooter to school, because it is fast and can reduce the time I have to wait for public transportation. However, when I was preparing to go to school this week, I thought that maybe I could give it up and use public transportation instead, because it takes 6 hours to charge my scooter each time, and it is 4.5km from my home to the school, if one round trip is counted, I can only use it 4 times and need to recharge it. And I use it not only when I go to school, but also when I go out to buy food or go shopping.

So I started a week of using public transportation, and as I expected, I spent more time each day waiting for the bus or subway, often feeling like a meatloaf in the morning or rush hour, and often having to walk a long way after getting off the bus.
But there are also many benefits. In addition to saving energy, I no longer have to worry about my electric scooter being stolen, and I don’t have to be frightened by pedestrians suddenly jumping out of the road. Cycling requires concentration, and I can do it on the bus. do what you want to do.

All in all, I think it’s nice to take public transportation, and maybe I’ll sell my scooter someday.

--

--