Personal guide against energy loss-Chapter 1

Francesca Bertini
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 20, 2022

--

“The easiest things to cut off”

Hi everyone! My name is Francesca, I’m starting this challenge on 18/09/2022. I share the house with my parents, who are not really into trying this challenging activity, so in my diary I will focus mainly on my personal lifestyle.

As soon as I started mapping the electronical devices in my house, I realized the big amount of small not essential appliances I use on daily/weekly basis. So I tought that “getting rid of them” could be an easy way to start.

WHAT I WILL NOT USE THIS WEEKS

  • Coffee machine (this is gonna be veeeeery hard)
  • Blender (I’ve to say bye bye to my fruit smoothies)
  • Toaster (barely using it already)
  • Milk Frother (barely using it already)
  • Stand mixer (barely using it already)
  • Apple Watch (this was a degree gift so sad to leave it)
  • Airpods (let’s go back to the old good wire)
  • Flat Iron (making braids after washing my hair can make them look good too)
  • Alexa Eco dot (I used it maily as a speaker for music)

By doing this I’m saving about 0,25 kW/daily. It’s not so much, but better than noting!

After finishing the house map, I identified the “essential” appliances that I can easily start using less without needing too much organization.

FIRST THING I WILL START USE LESS

  • TV (I don’t watch a lot of TV, but less is always better)
  • Decoder (always turn it completely off after my parents stop watching their late night movies)
  • Wifi Router (I will turn it on only from 5pm until bedtime, during the thay if I need it Iwill just go to the library)
  • Hairdryer (Is still not so cold outside, I will dry only the hair near the head)
  • Iphone (Less social media and more reading is gonna do me well)
  • Ipad (same as the phone)

By doing this I’m saving about 0,8 kW/daily. Again better than noting!

In the next updates I will give you my feedback on more difficult task to manage, starting from… Cooking and eating!

See you on Thursday!

--

--