Program selection makes the difference

Utku Erturkan
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 22, 2022

Some products are irreplaceable in our daily life. To save energy in products like this, we can take measures without completely removing them from our lives. The way and frequency of using products can save lots of energy. Let’s take the washing machine as an example.

Program selection

My preferences

Temperature: When washing machine full loads at 30 degrees Celsius and 90 degrees Celsius, we see that the second one uses about 1026% more energy. This is affected not only by temperature but also by washing time. Low-temperature cleaning programs are short, while high-temperature cleaning programs are more intensive, complex and time consuming. Moreover, some programs permit making the temperature lower. I chose eco program with the lowest degrees.

Spin: Spin amount is another factor that affects power consumption. The higher speed increases energy consumption. So on these warm days, I prefer to wash my clothes without spinning.

Avoid washing before the machine is full: If your machine does not have a half-full washing mode, run your machine fully loaded (not overload). So, I changed my washing habit. I reduced my habit from twice to once a week.

The Determination of Load Profiles and Power Consumptions of Home Appliances — Scientific Figure on ResearchGate

--

--