Reduce the frequency and number of kitchen devices used in the cooking process

Hongyu Mou
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 22, 2022

17th September, Saturday

I found that in my current life, the electrical products I use are actually very limited, and I didn’t purchase more appliances because I had to move later. And the power of the devices I use in my daily life are very low. So I started thinking about the part of my daily life that causes relatively large consumption, and that is cooking.

I hardly ever order take-away food, and I finish my meals by myself. I’m also very good at and enjoy cooking, which gives me a sense of satisfaction in life. I’m also looking for variety, so I buy a lot of cooking equipments to meet my need to cook different kinds of food in each place I live.

I almost always cook at least two dishes per meal, and different cooking styles increase the number of cooking equipments and the frequency of use. I use at least two or more cooking equipment for each meal, and there is often a primary and secondary relationship among them, with the primary equipment being responsible for cooking the most complex dishes for the longest time, and the secondary equipment handling the secondary ingredients for a very short time.
So the question arises.

The auxiliary category of cooking tools are used for a shorter period of time but their power is very high, such as toasters, kettles. And these devices are overcapacity. For example, I usually boil a large pot of water to make my instant coffee, but in reality I only need one cup of water, and the rest of the water is left in the pot to cool down and wait for an indeterminate time to be used again.

This seemingly ordinary process generates unnecessary energy consumption. So I started to think about streamlining my cooking process to reduce consumption.

I remembered that when I was in elementary school, I had done a math question, the general idea is that it takes four minutes to brush your teeth and wash your face, five minutes to boil water, one minute to get dressed, and ten minutes to add up all the processes, so how can I improve efficiency. The answer is to brush your teeth and wash your face and then get dressed while boiling water . I got inspiration from this, maybe I can improve the efficiency of using kitchenware.

In the next morning. Instead of using a kettle, I chose to boil water in my cooking pot, and after the water boiled I poured out a portion to make instant coffee. The rest was used to simmer the dumplings. In this way, the food and beverage preparation was all done in one cooker, reducing the frequency of use of the product and not causing excess energy consumption.

--

--