Reduce the frequency of dishwasher usage

Zhexin Feng
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 22, 2022

- 20th Sep, Tuesday

I am a person who likes to cook, so I notice that it is the dishwasher that I have to use almost every day.

I’m not sure why, but every day the dishwasher is so full that I need to think critically about what to put in each spot to get those dishes into the dishwasher.

I started thinking about how to use the dishwasher less often, in other words, I needed to reduce the amount of kitchenware I used each day. I started to notice some of my own cooking habits.

· With a smaller chopping board, I need to use more bowls to hold the chopped ingredients.

· As mincing garlic and onions can be a tricky and troublesome business, I would use a blender rather than a knife to chop slowly.

· Whenever I cook I imagine I am a chef and the seasoning is mixed in a small bowl like this. This way, I can put the spices in quickly and well when I need to, without having to keep opening and closing the cupboard door.

The next day, I came up with a solution to this problem.

· Use the chopping board as a container for chopped food, but better still, redesign the board to solve these pain points: not enough space for food, need to wash the board every time you change food, no place to put spices, etc.

· In my own spare time, chop basic ingredients such as onions, ginger and garlic with a knife in advance and store them in the fridge. When you need it, just take out the crisper and remove the appropriate amount.

· Reduce the use of bowls, just one bowl or plate per person.

Significantly, on the second day, there was a significant drop in the use of dishes. The dishwasher can be operated again for 3–4 days instead of having to be operated every day.

--

--