Results&Reflections

Lorenzo Longieri
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 30, 2022

Okay, these days I have been experimenting with tricks to succeed in decreasing my daily energy consumption.
I started from the room again and applied everything in the first medium I had set for myself:
I turned off the electrical appliances I never use, turned off the Wi-Fi and NAS during the working hours of the day (when no one is home) and unplugging the phone and computer from the power when they are charged. I got the shocking result of 0.4kWh from the 2.7 I normally consume, and without even making too much effort.

Let’s move on to the other rooms:
-The living room I don’t use any appliances daily so it remains at 0.005kWh

-in the bathroom, in addition to the lamp, there are the washing machine, alarm clock, and electric toothbrush.
As for the alarm clock, if it were up to me I would turn it off but my mother likes to keep it on so I haven’t touched it. As for the electric toothbrush, I would like to make a little reasoning: from an energy-saving perspective I could very well turn it off and not use it, but I know that from the point of view of effectiveness it is much superior to the regular toothbrush, so the only thing I did was to disconnect it from the power when fully charged. The same reasoning for the washing machine, but in that case I couldn’t reach the outlet because it was hidden behind the cabinet. So the result was virtually unchanged (0.3kWh).

-We come to the room with the highest energy consumption: the kitchen. Here I was actually able to intervene more effectively: I stopped using the vacuum cleaner to pick up crumbs (I used a regular one); I made coffee with the mocha; I avoided microwaving bread and other cold or frozen foods, preferring to have them heated at room temperature; I washed dishes by hand instead of putting them in the dishwasher; and I kept the TV off.
The result was 3.1kWh.

Here I have another reasoning to make: yes I used 0.9kWh less energy, but it is a poor result taking into account that I had to keep off almost all the appliances I usually use and this meant greatly increasing the timing for actions such as cleaning the floor , making coffee or heating frozen food; plus I used other sources such as water to wash the dishes (I know that much more is wasted than washing in the dishwasher).

I have come to the conclusion that in my daily life appliances are irreplaceable for my lifestyle and in general for the modern society in which I live, because they allow us to do things with less effort but more efficiently.
However, what saves, in no small part, on our daily consumption is to disconnect the appliances we use from the power immediately after they have charged up or we have stopped using them. A habit that no one from my fault line applies. It is not enforced because especially for large appliances it is difficult to unplug them from the outlet, or others such as Wi-Fi that you do not use directly and always forget turned on.
A temporary solution may be to buy multiple outlets with a general on/off button

…But it could be done better….

With that I have concluded, I thank you for taking the time to read this,
Bye!!!

--

--