sharing is caring — food, food, food

miri.ho
Living with 4kWh a day
2 min readSep 24, 2022
Planned weekly shopping. I am already used to shopping in Germany on foot or by bike and with my own bags. I think it is a pity to see that in Italy, plastic bags are still offered at checkout and for fruit.

This week I have been looking at how I can use less energy during the week. During the week, I am mainly at home in the evening after university. Here I usually consume a lot of electricity every evening for cooking (and pre-cooking for the next day), so I want to change something about that.

Where can I save energy in the kitchen?
Since we live in a shared apartment of 5, I can not decide on something like unplugging the fridge. What I have noticed is that we all like to cook in the evening. But because of our different schedules, everyone cooks separately. This consumes a lot of unnecessary energy!

Unfortunately, we all do not know each other enough yet that I want to limit the others too much by my challenge. That is why I have decided to set up a flexible weekly plan.

First delicious meals with my roommates. I can now really enjoy the warm food.

Here I allow myself to cook warm if someone else eats with me. Then I cook in a large quantity so that it is enough for several servings and as preparation for the next day at the university.

If no one has time and I eat alone I prepare something cold. I don not need electricity for this (and the fridge is on for my roommates anyway, as described).

In my shopping plan I have also considered that I only buy perishable food that can be eaten cold (vegetables). Everything that needs to be cooked has a longer shelf life so I can store it in case I do not find a cooking companion that often.

Cold but delicious meals on my balcony when I eat alone.

Off topic:
I miss pretzels and German bread so much! Even if I love Italian food, sometimes I miss it...

--

--