Some household behaviors that cause energy consumption

Zhexin Feng
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 22, 2022

My current situation regarding HOME:

I was lived in a host family for about 2 weeks. There is a young couple with their son. Because of it, there are a large amount of daily wastes, whether caused by adults or the child.

· 15th, Sep Thursday

p.s. I know this day’s record perhaps not have much to do with electricity, but this small behavioral improvement has really solved the problem of wasting paper towels.

After classes, I started to find the details in my daily life which cause wastes.

When I thought about the experience that I take out trash before, I saw that there are tons of tissues in the trash bag!

The picture shown is just the amount of tissues used in half a hour.

In order to reduce the waste of paper towels, I began to look for the types of paper towels at home and began to observe the situation of paper towels, hoping to find some methods.

I found there are 4 type of tissues that I always used in my daily life.

· Kitchen towel

· napkins

· wet wipes

· Small pack of tissues

After that, I started paying attention to the use of these tissues. The scenarios with the most usage of those tissues I observed was cooking.

For example, there are the following scenarios for use with cooking.

· Before I start cooking, I need to cut various ingredients, and I’m used to washing my hands every time I switch between cuts. After washing my hands, I would draw a paper towel to wipe the water off my hands and move on to another ingredient.

· When cooking, if I get oil on my hands, I also wash and wipe them off with a paper towel. Even when I pour the dishes into the bowl, if any food spills, I wrap it in a paper towel and throw it away.

· When I’m done eating, I use kitchen paper or a damp paper towel to wipe off any grease stains on the cooktop or table.

Therefore,I started the “Zero Tissue” initiative.

I used the reusable sponge cloth to clean the cooktop, table sink, etc. What is more, I kept a hand towel next to the sink, which I don’t use every time I wash my hands.

I am amazed that just a few small behavioral changes have led to a dramatic reduction in the amount of paper towels used in the home.

Every time I use a sponge to wipe off an oil stain, I feel like I’m using one less paper towel this time!

--

--